The Art Attack Blog

a thought provoking barage of art

Chan Hwee Chong

I came across this YouTube video today, and it surprised me.  Not in a way that you know you are going to be surprised like at Christmas or your birthday, but in a way that you aren’t even paying attention to what’s happening and all of the sudden there is a beautiful surprise swirling in front of you, and you find yourself thinking, “Hmmm… I think I need more of this in my life.”  Chan Hwee Chong’s artwork has that kind of affect on me.  Subtle but sublime.  Whimsical and airy.

ImageImage Source: Behance

Chan Hwee Chong created this mesmerizing work of art through the use of one continuous line ever changing in width and pressure.  He used the Faber Castell Artist Pen to create this unexpected masterpiece and has made me want to buy a set myself.  Although, I don’t think the results would be the same.

Chan Hwee Chong has created The Snail: An Homage to the Movable Subsistence.  It’s an endearing piece of art in motion that follows the existence of an uncommon snail.

Image

Source: Behance

Critical Thinking Questions:

Why do you think Chan Hwee Chong has chosen to complete his portraits using one continuous line?

If you were an uncommon snail, what would you carry with you?  What does this say about your values?

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation